Vijay Hazare Trophy final: Karnataka triumphs via VJD method

Vijay Hazare trophy final

The much-anticipated Vijay Hazare trophy final between two southern giants had everyone’s eyes on it. In the end, a star-studded Karnataka easily crushed Tamil Nadu in the final. The final was rain-affected, so Jaydevan system (VJD Method) was used, and although Karnataka batted second, they won by 60 runs.

Tamil Nadu posted a modest total

Manish Pandey won a crucial toss for Karnataka and gave his bowlers the chance to bowl first. It immediately paid off. Abhimanyu Mithun dismissed Murali Vijay for zero, and then things got worst when Ashwin got caught. Tamil Nadu was struggling for 24 for 2 in the eight over.

However, Abhinav Mukund and Baba Aparajith together stitch a partnership in the middle. But, due to lack of firepower, in the end, Tamil Nadu struggled to reach a respectable score. On the other hand, Abhimanyu Mithun celebrated his 30th birthday in style when he took a memorable hat-trick in the last over to restrict Tamil Nadu to just 252. Mithun took a fifer for just 34 runs in his ten overs. While rest of the bowlers were ok with Koushik picking two wickets as well.

Kl Rahul and Mayank Agrawal did the job for Karnataka

Tamil Nadu set a relatively easy score, but the pressure of the finals can make anything happen. Karnataka started brightly, but Devdutt Padikkal fell to Washington Sundar early. But KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal didn’t even give Tamil Nadu any sniff in the game. Their partnership was 112 when rain stopped play, and Karnataka was handed over the victory.

During their innings, no bowler looked threatening, both hit some gorgeous shots in their half-centuries, but it was Mayank Agrawal who stole the show. He scored 69 runs in just 55 balls; it seems as if he was in a hurry for the Bangladesh test series.

Man of the Match in the final

Vijay Hazare trophy winner
Photo by Sportstar

Although there was no such official man of the match ceremony in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 final. But behind the scenes, everyone knew it was Abhimanyu Mithun. Although the track didn’t move a little in the opening half-hour but other than that, it was easy runs.

Both sides took advantage of it with middle over yielding the most runs for both teams. But it was the economical bowling and wickets of Mithun that proved the difference. Giving away just 34 runs and taking five wickets is a dream for every bowler. Sadly Shahrukh, M Mohammed, and M Ashwin had to fall prey in the magical hat-trick.

Going into the match, Karnataka bowling was short in ammo; as R Vinay Kumar, who was a long-time partner of Mithun, decided to play with Puducherry. Prasidh, who took his place, was also injured for the Vijay Hazare Trophy final. So a lot of pressure was on Mithun as a senior bowler in the team, but he delivered when it mattered. Hence, they decided him to be the Man of the Match in the final.

Failed hero for Tamil Nadu in the finals of Vijay Hazare trophy

Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu was hyped a lot as a southern derby due to their historic rivalry, but it was let down by major hero for Tamil Nadu. R Ashwin, Vijay Shankar, and Shahrukh, who all were heroes of the semi-final, didn’t perform well in the final. All three failed to have any significant impact for the team, both by bat and ball.

After Baba Aparajith was run out in the 38th over, the match looked in control of Karnataka. They dictated the play, and the worst part of that Dinesh Karthik team didn’t even put up a fight. Fans were most disappointed with Dinesh Karthik, who was the captain, and his experience couldn’t help to post a healthy score on board.

Even the bowler couldn’t produce anything; the only wicket was by Washington Sundar. He also went for 50 runs in just six overs, showing us how poorly the Tamil Nadu team performed.

Karnataka is Vijay Hazare Trophy winner

Although this shouldn’t come as a surprise as the team is filled with players who have played at the international level. But the manner by which they won in the final is exceptional. They never once looked out of the game, and in the second innings, KL Rahul and Mayank played as if it was a practice match. They played shots all around the ground with ease without any pressure of playing at a Vijay Hazare trophy final 2019.

The so-called southern derby was expected to be a closely contested match. Still, the fans witness some quality bowling and batting on the day. Karnataka came out on top comfortably and won the Vijay Hazare Trophy final with 60 runs. Now they have won the competition four times just one less of their neighbor, Tamil Nadu.

Photo by Deccan Herald

" class="prev-article">Previous article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *