Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Chinnaswamy awaits for the southern derby

Vijay Hazare trophy 2019

The auspicious Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 final is about to take place between the two Southern Giants. The 18th season of the tournament will be either won by Tamil Nadu or Karnataka. The final will take place on 25th October at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Aside from the trophy, this is also a local southern derby, and there is no love lost between the teams.

What is this Vijay Hazare Trophy?

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is the one-day equivalence of Ranji Trophy. It is named after the famous Indian captain Vijay Hazare who played for India in the 50s. The competition started in 2002-03 and ever since has been a constant fixture in the domestic circuit. 36 teams take part in the competition, and each team is divided into four different groups, after round-robin matches, eight teams qualify for the playoffs.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 points table:

The league stage was affected by rains a lot. In the first 3 days of the tournament, more than 17 matches out of 30 were abandoned or ended in no results. However, BCCI took control of the situation and rescheduled the matches for a fair league stage.

But the excitement wasn’t over yet. With many teams affected by no results and the race to qualify for the playoffs became tricky for a lot of teams. Puducherry led the table in Plate Group, where they won 7 matches, and 2 ended in no results. Group C found a clear winner in Tamil Nadu, who topped the group with 9 wins. Gujarat came in second whose only defeat was at the hands of Tamil Nadu.

Group B was a much closer affair with Delhi and Punjab level on 22 points, and Uttar Pradesh missed out with 20 points. UP would be disappointed; specifically, they had two NR matches which they would have won and qualified. Group A saw Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, and Mumbai qualifying with Hyderabad missing out by two points. After a highly competitive league stage, the team prepared for the playoff.


The Quarterfinals had its own twist and turns. With Karnataka trashing Puducherry with 8 wickets in hand. Gujarat chased down 234 in a mere 38 over against Delhi. While the two remaining matches were a little special. Chhattisgarh was drawn against the defending champion Mumbai.

The champion was buzzing when they had to chase just 191 in 46 overs. Yashasvi Jaiswal opened the innings marvelously for Mumbai, as they were 95 for zero in 12 overs. Their victory was imminent, but the rain had other plans, and the match was abandoned. Chhattisgarh went through due to more wins in the group stage. Similarly, things happened to Tamil Nadu, who were struggling against Punjab when they could only manage 176 runs. But rain saved them and they qualified for the semis.

The semis were a much simpler affair with the national team stars doing the job for their team. The first SF was between Karnataka and Chhattisgarh, in which quick half-centuries from KL Rahul and Mayank Agrawal resulted in a nine-wicket win for Karnataka.

The Second Semis was a much closer affair with ShahRukh calm fifty gave Tamil Nadu victory in the second last over. Ashwin was the hero as he gave just 21 runs in 8 overs and even picked a wicket.

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final:

The stage for the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 is set. With two big giants of the Indian domestic circuit are competing in the final. There is an age-long rivalry between the neighbor that dates back to the 1950s. The team first met in the Ranji trophy; Karnataka always had the upper hand, but Tamil Nadu always had memorable performance against Karnataka.

But in the Vijay Hazare Trophy has a completely different scenario. Tamil Nadu has won the competition five times while Karnataka has won only three times. So, this final is very crucial for both teams. Tamil Nadu wants to farther the distance between the neighbors who have historically dominated them while Karnataka has a chance to close the gap.

Vijay Hazare Trophy live telecast:

This is sure to be one of the nastiest matches in India. You will also get to see Ashwin against the likes of KL Rahul and Agrawal. Aside from quality cricket, you will also see a lot of sledging and bantering, which is not to be missed. You can catch the live telecast of the final on any of the Star Sports channel and on Hotstar.

Final Thoughts: The Vijay Hazare trophy 2019 is one hell of the tournament with close contests, rain-affected thrillers, and more. The final is a southern derby between two states, which are known for their historic rivalry. With a trophy at stake, you can only expect quality cricket from both sides.

Photo by Mr. Cricket @YouTube

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *